The iniciation Path acording to the Master Masons of the European Cathedrals of the Midldle Ages.
Paintings are used to transmit the idea/s due to the shortage of stonecarved reprodutions, illustrating the degrees, in the Google images.

In relation to the Degrees, it should be said that 3° is the highest degree in Freemasonry.
There are also additional orders which one may join once one is already a Master Mason.
Each of these has its own degree system.

For example, the Scottish Rite has 33°.
The Egyptian Rite of Memphis has 99°.
Knight Rose Croix has 18°.

It seems that since the Scottish Rite order is one of the most popular side orders in the USA, and many Masons in the States do join this order, many American non-Masons jump to the conclusion that Freemasonry has 33°. This is completely wrong. (Also note that outside of the USA, this order is rare.)

It's only the Scottish Rite Order that has 33°, and it is simply one of many, many existing Orders, each with their own numbering system. The Scottish rite has no more importance in Freemasonry than any other side order - it's just an additional order which 3° Masons may join.

So, again, one should keep in mind that Freemasonry itself has only 3 degrees- Entered Apprentice, FellowCraft and Master Mason.

Each of the degrees requires the candidate to participate in the drama being presented. They are all of a very serious nature and not in the least demeaning of the candidate. Masonic catechisms are a series of memorized questions and answers pertaining to a specific degree. Usually, the candidate meets with a lodge member who knows these catechisms and helps him to memorize the work. The catechisms simply reiterate the degree work that the candidate recently completed and proves his proficiency with them. Once a catechism is completed the candidate can proceed to the next degree.


1 to 7 Degrees - Obstacles to Iniciation - Seven Deadly Sins

Here, in this painting, the Seven Sins as the Seven Plagues.The seven plagues, following the commentary by Berengaudus (fl. 840-92), are interpreted as the Seven Deadly Sins, which some believed would take over the world as the end neared. Envy places a crown on Pride, Anger holds a sword, Avarice has a purse, and Gluttony drinks. Sloth is recumbent and Lust combs his hair. The manuscript was in the library of Jean, duc de Berry, the great French bibliophile who commissioned the Très Riches Heures. The anonymous artist responsible for its 85 miniatures was named the Master of the Berry Apocalypse after this book.

Carvings -